Your source for Ohio driver’s information
Notice: Driver license changes and applications must be processed at an official DMV location or website. This website provides links to official DMV services which may be free of charge as well as third-party application assistance services and products that charge a fee. Application assistance value added services are designed to better prepare you and help save you time for many DMV-related services. They provide personalized information, customer support, additional vehicle related products and where possible, document preparation. The information on this site is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or up-to-date.
How To Reinstate Your Suspended Ohio Drivers License
Do you need to reinstate your suspended Ohio drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn’t have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.
Driving with a suspended Ohio drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We’ve collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Ohio license. Select from the options below to get started.
1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance
Online application assistance services in Ohio can facilitate the processes involved in many BMV related services by providing invaluable information and step-by-step instruction on how best to proceed. Whether you are looking to renew, replace or get a new OH driver’s license or ID card, online application assistance services can help with these and many more. Other benefits include one-click access to an entire inventory of official Ohio documents and publications, as well as other useful Ohio resources.
2: By mail
Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DMV.
3: Via aDMV office
If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DMV office. Varying DMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DMV allows you to make a personal appointment.
Your license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Some situations are clear, while others are subtle, with some drivers unaware that their license is suspended at all. In this guide, you’ll find information on the steps necessary to reinstate your Ohio driver’s license, no matter what your violation was.
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you may be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. You may be required to serve up to 180 days in jail, and pay a fine of up to $1,000.
Reinstating Your License
The process for reinstating a suspended license in Ohio varies depending on the offense committed. Detailed instructions on what you’ll need for your particular case can be found at http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/suspension_reinstatement.stm .
The Ohio BMV recommends that you mail your requirements at least 20 days before your suspension ending date in order to allow for the timely return of your driving privileges and eliminate unnecessary delays.
Operator License Reinstatement
- DUI Conviction Date before March 14, 1989 – $75
- DUI Conviction Date between March 15, 1989 through July 24, 1990 – $100
- DUI Conviction Date between July 25,1990 through June 30, 1993 – $125
- ALS/DUI Arrest Date between July 1, 1993 through September 30, 1997- $250
- ALS/OVI Arrest Date between October 1, 1997 through September 15, 1998 – $280
- ALS/OVI Arrest Date between September 16, 1998 through November 2, 2000 – $405
- ALS/OVI Arrest Date between November 3, 2000 through September 29, 2008 – $475
- ALS/OVI Arrest Date on or after September 30, 2008 – $475
- Incident/Accident prior to April 20, 1995 – $30
- Incident/Accident after April 19, 1995
- First Offense – $75
- Second Offense within five years – $250
- Third Offense within five years – $500
- Incident/Accident after October 16, 2009
- First Offense – $100
- Second Offense within five years – $300
- Third Offense within five years – $600
- Random Selection – $100
Note: There is a $50 additional non-voluntary surrender fee on all of the above non-compliance suspensions if the driver license and registration plates are not surrendered in the required amount of time.
- Non-resident Violator Compact Suspension – $12.50
- If mailing date on Suspension Notice is October 1, 1997 or greater – $30
Vehicle Registration Reinstatement
License/Bond Forfeiture Reinstatement
- LF/BF mail date between September 16, 2004 and October 15, 2009 – $15
- LF/BF mail date on or after October 16, 2009 – $25
Warrant Block Reinstatement
- On or after September 16, 2004 – $15
Child Support Reinstatement
You may contact the county or municipal court where you live for a fee payment plan. The plan will allow you to request limited driving privileges while making payments to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) on your reinstatement fees. The court is not required by Ohio law to grant a fee payment plan. The fee payment plan will require a minimum payment of $50 per month.
DO NOT SEND CASH. Please send a check or money order, made payable to the “Ohio State Treasurer” to the appropriate address.
– Download comprehensive checklists, tips and resources to guide you with DMV related services.
– Find the State of Ohio DMV location closest to you, or for free forms visit the official government website.
Renew Your Drivers License
Renew Your Vehicle Registration
Replace Your Car Title
Commercial Drivers License
Get your Motorcycle License
Access Your Driving Record
How to Save on Auto Insurance
Get Help with Tickets and Violations
Check Your Vehicle History Report
How to Change Your Address
How to Buy a New Car
DMV Practice Tests
Car Title Loans
Commercial Auto Insurance
OhioDriversLicense.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency. Furthermore, the information contained on the site is not legal advice and is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or up-to-date.